Wir stellen vor: Plenny Shake Active v3.1

 

Der Plenny Shake Active ist eine vollwertige Mahlzeit, die reich an pflanzlichem Protein, Omega-3-Fettsäuren und Ballaststoffen ist und wenig Zucker und Salz enthält. 

Aufgrund seines hohen Proteingehalts (35 Gramm Protein pro Mahlzeit) ist es gut geeignet für alle, die gerne und viel aktiv sind, trainieren und ihre Muskelproteinsynthese maximieren möchten! Her mit diesen Muskeln!

Eine Portion Plenny Shake Active versorgt dich mit allen Makro- und Mikronährstoffen, die dein Körper benötigt, um richtig zu funktionieren: Proteine, Kohlenhydrate, Fette und alle 26 essenziellen Vitamine und Mineralstoffe.

Und zu guter Letzt einige kleine, aber starke Zutaten, die Plenny Shake Active noch spezieller machen: Probiotika, Ahiflower, Cholin und Algen.

Eine Portion enthält 400 kcal, davon 31% Kohlenhydrate, 30% Fett, 35% Eiweiß und 4% Ballaststoffe.

Die Shakes sind in vier leckeren Geschmacksrichtungen erhältlich; Vanille, Erdbeere, Banane und Schokolade.

 

Aufschlüsselung der Nährwerte

Pro Portion von Plenny Shake Active 3.1 Vanille

Nährwerte

Menge

Energie

400 kcal/1674 KJ

Fett

13 Gramm

- davon gesättigte Fette

1.6 Gramm

Kohlenhydrate

32 Gramm

- davon Zucker

3.8 Gramm

Ballaststoffe

6.7 Gramm

Protein

35 Gramm

Salz

1.1 Gramm

 

Zutaten

  • Hafermehl
  • Sojamehl
  • Sonnenblumenöl
  • Sojaprotein-Isolat
  • Inulin (nicht in der Schoko-Sorte)
  • Gemahlene Goldleinsamen
  • Vitamin- und Mineralstoffmischung
  • Ahiflower Pulver (raffiniertes Buglossoides-Öl)
  • Süßungsmittel: Sucralose
  • Probiotika: Bacillus Coagulans
  • Gefriergetrocknete T. chuii Mikroalgen
  • Abhängig von Geschmackssorte: Fruchtpulver, Kakaopulver, Rote Beete Pulver, Beta-Carotin oder andere Aromen.

 

Makronährstoffe

   

Protein

Das Protein in Plenny Shake Active stammt aus Sojaproteinisolat, Hafer, Sojamehl und Leinsamen. Jede Portion Plenny Shake Active enthält 35 Gramm Protein, sodass du die empfohlene Tageszufuhr für einen aktiven Lebensstil problemlos erreichst. Außerdem können Proteine ein langes Sättigungsgefühl hervorrufen, da die Verdauung von Proteinen länger dauert als die von Kohlenhydraten.

 

Aufgrund seiner hohen Verdaulichkeit und Absorptionsrate verwenden wir Sojaproteinisolat als Hauptproteinquelle. Möchtest du mehr über pflanzliches Protein erfahren? Dieser Artikel wird dir alles darüber erzählen! [1,2]

 

Die Kombination der Proteinquellen im Plenny Shake Active führt zu folgendem Aminosäureprofil:

 

Aminosäure

Mg pro Portion

% von der von der WHO empfohlenen Tageszufuhr

Alanin

1949

-

Arginin

3242

-

Asparaginsäure

4939

-

Glutaminsäure

7883

-

Glycin

1830

-

Hystidin

1112

139 %

Isoleucin

2033

127 %

Leucin

3454

111%

Lysin

2707

113%

Methionin + Cystein

1252

104%

Phenylalanin + Tyrosin

3823

191%

Prolin

2230

-

Serin

2237

-

Threonin

1706

142%

Tryptophan

556

174 %

Valin

2075

100 %

 

Wie du sehen kannst, erfüllt der Plenny Shake Active die von der Weltgesundheitsorganisation empfohlene Tageszufuhr für alle 9 essenziellen Aminosäuren.

 

Fett

Die Zutaten, die unserem Plenny Shake Active herzfreundliche Fette verleihen, sind Sonnenblumenöl, Ahifloweröl, Leinsamen und Sojamehl. Omega 3 und 6 sind unbestreitbare essenzielle Nährstoffe, die der Körper nicht komplett selbst produzieren kann. Fett ist eine wichtige Energiequelle für deinen Körper und hilft dabei, Vitamine und Nährstoffe aufzunehmen.

 

  • Das Sonnenblumenöl, das wir im Plenny Shake Active verwenden, enthält hauptsächlich einfach ungesättigte Fette und eine große Menge an Omega-6 und Omega-3. 
  • Die meisten Fette in Sojamehl sind einfach-ungesättigte Fette und sorgen für den Großteil des Omega-6-Fetts im Endprodukt. 
  • Wir fügen Goldleinsamen wegen ihres hohen Gehalts an α-Linolensäure (Omega-3) und Linolsäure (Omega-6) hinzu. 
  • Der Hafer hilft auch ein wenig beim Fettgehalt des Produkts. 
  • Ahiflower-Öl ist die einzige natürliche Pflanzenquelle auf dem Markt, die ein komplexes Omega-Profil aufweist: Es enthält ein Omega-3-6-Verhältnis von ungefähr 4:1 aus den am verträglichsten Quellen [3–7].

Diese Inhaltsstoffe zusammen erreichen das folgende Omega-Profil:

 

Fettsäure

Mg pro Portion

Omega-3 Fettsäuren

927.6

Omega-6 Fettsäuren

1487.9

 

Kohlenhydrate

Die meisten Kohlenhydrate im Plenny Shake Active stammen vom Hafer, der aufgrund seines Gehalts an Beta-Glucanen und seines niedrigen glykämischen Indexes (GI) besonders interessant ist. Das bedeutet, dass dein Blutzuckerspiegel weniger schwankt, ebenso wie dein Energie-Level dank der Ballaststoffe. Neben Hafer wird Sojamehl als weitere Energiequelle hinzugefügt [6,8,9].

 

Ballaststoffe

Die Hauptquellen für Ballaststoffe in unseren Produkten sind Inulin, Hafer und Leinsamen. Sie helfen bei der Senkung des Blutdrucks und sorgen für eine gute Verdauung. Insbesondere Inulin, das aus Zichorienwurzel gewonnen wird, wird hinzugefügt, um eine größere Vielfalt an Ballaststoffquellen zu erreichen und die Art der Ballaststoffe pro Portion zu verbessern. Wenn du mehr darüber wissen möchtest, lies diesen Blogartikel der sich Ballaststoffen und der Darmgesundheit widmet [10,11]!

 

Mikronährstoffe

Die Vitamin- und Mineralstoffmischung, die wir dem Produkt hinzufügen, liefert alle 26 wichtigen Mikronährstoffe. Wir verwenden die bioverfügbarste Form von Mikronährstoffen, damit dein Körper jedes Milli- und Mikrogramm der Vitamine und Mineralstoffe effektiv aufnehmen kann. 

Zum Beispiel fügen wir Vitamin D in Form von Cholecalciferol (D3) und Vitamin K in Form von Menachinon-7 (K2 MK7) hinzu. Finde hier mehr heraus über unseren Mikronährstoffmix.

Pro Portion (98g)

Vitamin/Mineralstoff

Menge

RI%*

Vitamin A

160 μg

20%*

Vitamin D

5.0 μg

100%*

Vitamin E

4.0 mg

33%*

Vitamin K

16 μg

21%*

Vitamin C

30 mg

38%*

Thiamin

0.4 mg

36%*

Riboflavin

0.3 mg

23%*

Niacin

3.6 mg

23%*

Vitamin B6

0.4 mg

29%*

Folsäure

60 μg

30%*

Vitamina B12 

3.2 μg

128%*

Biotin

10 μg

20%*

Pantothensäure

1.2 mg

20%*

Kalium

400 mg

20%*

Chlorid

279 mg

35%*

Kalzium

185 mg

23%*

Phosphor

140 mg

20%*

Magnesium

75 mg

20%*

Eisen

3.2mg 

23%*

Zink

2.0 mg

20%*

Kupfer

0.4 mg

40%*

Mangan

1.0 mg

50%*

Selen

18 μg

33%*

Chrom

8.0 μg

20%*

Molybdenum

13 μg

26%*

Jod

30 μg

20%*

 

*% der täglichen Referenzzufuhr (RI) für Vitamine und Mineralstoffe

** Referenzzufuhr für den durchschnittlichen Erwachsenen (8.400 kJ/2.000 kcal)

 

Zu guter Letzt: Cholin, Probiotika und Algen

Wir wollten unsere Produkte mit zusätzlichen funktionellen Vorteilen ausstatten, für die wir uns mit den besten Zutaten beschäftigt haben und haben daher beschlossen, Cholin und Probiotika hinzuzufügen.

Cholin ist ein kleines organisches Molekül, das dein Körper benötigt, um richtig zu funktionieren. Es ist ein essenzieller Nährstoff, denn es dient als Schlüsselelement im Stoffwechsel, der unseren Körper und unsere Zellen steuert. Insbesondere enthält es wichtige Bausteine, sogenannte Methylgruppen, die beispielsweise in Lebensmittelprozessen und im Gehirn sehr wichtig sind [12 -16].

Darüber hinaus werden Probiotika hinzugefügt, weil sie möglicherweise unsere Darmflora verbessern und stärken können. Die Probiotika haben eine symbiotische Wirkung mit dem hohen Ballaststoffgehalt der Plenny Shakes. Das heißt, die Probiotika werden widerstandsfähiger und bieten einen verbesserten Effekt auf deine Gesundheit dank der Ballaststoffe, von denen diese leben. Im Grunde stärkt eine Zutat die andere - ziemlich praktisch oder [17]?

Plenny Shake Active v3.1 enthält gefriergetrocknete Mikroalgen: Tetraselmis chuii. Diese Alge enthält eine hohe Konzentration des Antioxidans „Superoxiddismutase“ (SOD). Unser Körper produziert dieses Antioxidans auf natürliche Weise, aber mit zunehmendem Alter nimmt diese Menge ab. SOD ist das erste Antioxidans in der Verteidigungslinie gegen ROS: reaktive Sauerstoffspezies (reactive oxygen species). Diese können Proteine, Lipide und Erbgut schädigen [4]. Wenn zu viele ROS und zu wenige Antioxidantien vorhanden sind, um sie zu bekämpfen, wird das antioxidative Abwehrsystem überfordert und der Körper wird oxidativem Stress ausgesetzt [18].

Es wird angenommen, dass zahlreiche Krankheiten, darunter Krebs, Arteriosklerose, Diabetes, chronische Entzündungen sowie neurodegenerative und kognitive Störungen durch das Auftreten von oxidativem Stress beeinflusst werden. Aber Studien haben die Vorteile einer Supplementierung mit Antioxidantien zur Reduzierung von oxidativem Stress gezeigt. [19]

Kannst du es kaum abwarten, von den leckeren und nährstoffreichen Vorteilen des Plenny Shake Active v3.1 zu profitieren? Hier bestellen!

 

Quellenangaben:

  1. WHO | Protein and amino acid requirements in human nutrition [Internet]. WHO. World Health Organization; [cited 2020 Apr 7]. Available from: http://www.who.int/nutrition/publications/nutrientrequirements/WHO_TRS_935/en/
  2. Pendick D. How much protein do you need every day? [Internet]. Harvard Health Blog. 2015 [cited 2020 Apr 9]. Available from: https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/how-much-protein-do-you-need-every-day-201506188096
  3. Balić A, Vlašić D, Žužul K, Marinović B, Bukvić Mokos Z. Omega-3 Versus Omega-6 Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids in the Prevention and Treatment of Inflammatory Skin Diseases. Int J Mol Sci [Internet]. 2020 Jan 23 [cited 2020 Aug 28];21(3). Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7037798/
  4. Boston 677 Huntington Avenue, Ma 02115 +1495‑1000. Types of Fat [Internet]. The Nutrition Source. 2014 [cited 2020 Apr 9]. Available from: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/what-should-you-eat/fats-and-cholesterol/types-of-fat/
  5. WHO | Fats and fatty acids in human nutrition [Internet]. WHO. World Health Organization; [cited 2020 Apr 7]. Available from: https://www.who.int/nutrition/publications/nutrientrequirements/fatsandfattyacids_humannutrition/en/
  6. Oats | The Nutrition Source | Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health [Internet]. [cited 2020 Apr 9]. Available from: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/food-features/oats/
  7. Cumberford G, Hebard A. Ahiflower oil: A novel non-GM plant-based omega-3+6 source. Lipid Technol. 2015;27(9):207–10.
  8. Slavin J, Carlson J. Carbohydrates1. Adv Nutr. 2014 Nov 3;5(6):760–1.
  9. Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids | The National Academies Press [Internet]. [cited 2020 Apr 3]. Available from: https://www.nap.edu/download/10490
  10. Holscher HD. Dietary fiber and prebiotics and the gastrointestinal microbiota. Gut Microbes. 2017 04;8(2):172–84.
  11. Whole Grains, Refined Grains, and Dietary Fiber | American Heart Association [Internet]. [cited 2020 Apr 9]. Available from: https://www.heart.org/en/healthy-living/healthy-eating/eat-smart/nutrition-basics/whole-grains-refined-grains-and-dietary-fiber#.WVVm4RMrIdU
  12. Zeisel SH, Corbin KD. Choline. In: Erdman JW, Macdonald IA, Zeisel SH, eds. Present Knowledge in Nutrition. 10th ed. Washington, DC: Wiley-Blackwell; 2012:405-18.
  13. Institute of Medicine. Food and Nutrition Board. Dietary Reference Intakes: Thiamin,  Riboflavin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Vitamin B12, Pantothenic Acid, Biotin, and Choline. Washington, DC: National Academy Press; 1998.
  14. Zeisel SH. Choline. In: Coates PM, Betz JM, Blackman MR, et al., eds. Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements. 2nd ed. London and New York: Informa Healthcare; 2010:136-43
  15. Zeisel SH. Choline. In: Ross AC, Caballero B, Cousins RJ, Tucker KL, Ziegler TR, eds. Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease. 11th ed. Baltimore, MD: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014:416-26.
  16. Corbin KD, Zeisel SH. Choline metabolism provides novel insights into nonalcoholic fatty liver disease and its progression. Curr Opin Gastroenterol 2012;28:159-65. [PubMed abstract]
  17. Holscher H. D. (2017). Dietary fiber and prebiotics and the gastrointestinal microbiota. Gut microbes, 8(2), 172–184. https://doi.org/10.1080/19490976.2017.1290756 
  18. Sies, H., 2017. Hydrogen peroxide as a central redox signaling molecule in physiological oxidative stress: Oxidative eustress. Redox biology, 11, pp.613-619.
  19. Stephenie, S., Chang, Y.P., Gnanasekaran, A., Esa, N.M. and Gnanaraj, C., 2020. An insight on superoxide dismutase (SOD) from plants for mammalian health enhancement. Journal of Functional Foods, 68, p.103917.

Introduction to Plenny Shake Active v3.1

 

Plenny Shake Active is a nutritionally complete meal that is high in protein and fibre, contains omega 3, and is low in sugar.

 

Because of the high protein content of 35 grams per meal, it’s well suited for anyone who likes to be active, work out, and wants to maximise muscle protein synthesis! Bring on those muscles! 

 

One meal of Plenny Shake Active provides you with all macronutrients and micronutrients your body needs to function properly: proteins, carbohydrates, fats, and all 26 essential vitamins and minerals.

 

And last but not least, some small but powerful ingredients to make Plenny Shake Active even more special: probiotics, choline, and algae.

 

One portion contains 400 kcal, of which 32% comes from carbohydrates, 30% from fat, 35% from protein and 3% from fibre.

The shakes are available in four tasty flavours; Vanilla, Strawberry, Banana, and Chocolate.

 

Nutritional breakdown

Per portion of Plenny Shake Active 3.1 Vanilla 

Nutrition

Value

Energy

400 kcal/1674 KJ

Fat

13 grams

From which saturated fats

1.6 grams

Carbohydrates

32 grams

From which sugar

3.8 grams

Fibres

6.7 grams

Protein

35 grams

Salt

1.1 grams

 

Ingredients

  • Oat flour
  • Soy flour
  • Sunflower oil
  • Soy protein isolate
  • Inulin
  • Ground golden flax seeds
  • Vitamin and mineral mix
  • Sweetener: sucralose
  • Probiotics: Bacillus Coagulans
  • Freeze-dried T. chuii microalgae  
  • Depending on the flavour: Fruit powder, cocoa powder, beetroot powder, beta-carotene, and aromas when applicable.

 

Macronutrients

   

Proteins

The protein in Plenny Shake Active comes from soy protein isolate, oats, soy flour and flaxseed. Each portion of Plenny Shake provides 35 grams of protein, so you’ll easily hit the daily recommended protein intake for an active person. Besides that, protein keeps your stomach full for longer because protein takes longer to digest than, for example, carbohydrates. 

 

We use soy protein isolate as the main protein source because of its high digestibility and absorption rate. Want to read more about plant-based protein? This article will tell you all about it! [1,2]

 

The combination of protein sources in the Plenny Shake Active results in the following amino acid profile:

 

Amino Acid

Mg per portion*

% from the WHO daily recommended intakes**

Alanine

1620

-

Arginine

2800

-

Aspartic Acid

4220

-

Glutamic Acid

7250

-

Glycine

1600

-

Hystidine

980

140 %

Isoleucine

1720

123 %

Leucine

2930

107%

Lysine

2740

130%

Methionine + Cysteine

1030

98%

Phenylalanine + Tyrosine

3280

187%

Proline

2040

-

Serine

1930

-

Threonine

1420

135%

Tryptophan

446

159 %

Valine

1860

102 %

*latest laboratory results

**based on an average adult (70kg). The requirements are determined by the person’s weight.

 

As you can see, Plenny Shake Active meets the daily recommended intakes the World Health Organization has established for all nine essential amino acids, helping you meet your personal protein needs.

 

Fats

The ingredients providing heart-friendly fats to our Plenny Shake Actives are sunflower oil, flaxseed, and soy flour. Omega 3 and 6 are fatty acids and indisputably essential nutrients that the body cannot sufficiently produce on its own. Fat is a major energy source for your body, and it helps you absorb vitamins and nutrients.

 

  • The sunflower oil we use for Plenny Shake Active has mainly polyunsaturated fats. 
  • We add golden flaxseed because of its content of α-Linolenic acid (omega-3). Each portion contains 0,7g of omega 3.
  • The soy flour helps a little bit with the fat content of the meal

According to the EFSA, a food containing at least 0.3g of alpha-linolenic acid per 100kcal is a source of omega 3. Each Plenny Shake will provide 1400mg of omega-3. The EFSA further advises that 250 mg should be ingested daily at the very least to maintain normal heart function.

Carbohydrates

Most of the carbohydrates in Plenny Shake Active come from oats, which are especially interesting because of their beta-glucans content and low Glycemic Index (GI). This means that blood glucose levels will fluctuate less, and so will your energy levels, thanks to their fibre content. As a second energy source, soy flour wins this place [6,8,9].

 

Fibres

The main sources of fibres in our meals are inulin, oats and flaxseed. They help in lowering blood pressure and smoothen your digestion. In particular, inulin, extracted from chicory, is added to achieve a wider variety of fibre sources and upgrade the type of fibre per portion. If you are curious to know more, check out this blog dedicated to gut health and fibres [10,11]!

 

Micronutrients

The vitamin and mineral mix that we add to the meals provides all the needed 26 micronutrients. We use the most bioavailable forms of micronutrients so that your body can absorb each bit of all the vitamins and minerals easily and at the highest rate. 

For instance, we add vitamin D in the form of cholecalciferol (D3) and vitamin K in the form of menaquinone-7 (K2 MK7). You can read more about our micronutrient mix here.

Per portion (98g)

Vitamins and Minerals 

Amounts

RI%*

Vitamin A

160 μg

20%*

Vitamin D

5.0 μg

100%*

Vitamin E

4.0 mg

33%*

Vitamin K

16 μg

21%*

Vitamin C

40 mg

50%*

Thiamin

0.4 mg

36%*

Riboflavin

0.32 mg

23%*

Niacin

3.6 mg

23%*

Vitamin B6

0.40 mg

29%*

Folic Acid

60 μg

30%*

Vitamina B12 

3.2 μg

128%*

Biotin

10 μg

20%*

Pantothenic acid

1.2 mg

20%*

Potassium

400 mg

20%*

Chloride

279 mg

35%*

Calcium

185 mg

23%*

Phosphorus

140 mg

20%*

Magnesium

75 mg

20%*

Iron

3.2mg 

23%*

Zinc

2.0 mg

20%*

Copper

0.40 mg

40%*

Manganese

1.0 mg

50%*

Selenium

18 μg

33%*

Chromium

8.0 μg

20%*

Molybdenum

13 μg

26%*

Iodine

30 μg

20%*

 

*% of the daily reference intake (RI) for vitamins and minerals

** Reference intake of an average adult (8400 kJ/2000 kcal)

 

Last but not least; Choline, probiotics, and algae

We wanted to add extra functional benefits to our meals, for which we dug into the best ingredients out there and decided to add choline and probiotics. 

Choline is a small organic molecule that your body needs to function properly. It is an essential nutrient because it is a key element in metabolic pathways that govern our bodies and run our cells; more specifically, it carries important building bricks called methyl groups, which are very important in food processes and in the brain, for example [12-16]. 

Moreover, probiotics came to our thoughts because of their ability to possibly enhance and strengthen our gut microbiome. Because of the high fibre content in Plenny Shakes, they have a symbiotic effect. This means that probiotics become more resistant and provide a stronger health effect thanks to the fibres they eat and live from. So one ingredient strengthens the other one! Sweet, right [17]? 

Plenny Shake Active v3.1 contains freeze-dried microalgae: Tetraselmis chuii. This alga has a lot of the antioxidant “superoxide dismutase” (SOD). Our body naturally produces this antioxidant, but as we age, we produce less and the quantity decreases. SOD is the first antioxidant in the line of defence against ROS: reactive oxygen species. These can damage proteins, lipids and genetic material [4]. When there are too many ROS and too few antioxidants to battle them, the antioxidant defence system gets overwhelmed, and the body will experience oxidative stress [18]. 

Many diseases, including cancer, atherosclerosis, diabetes, chronic inflammation, neurodegenerative disorders, and cognitive disorders, are thought to be influenced by oxidative stress. But studies have shown the advantages of antioxidant supplementation in reducing oxidative stress. [19]

Can’t wait to benefit from the tasty and nutritional advantages of the Plenny Shake Active v3.1? Go here!

 

Sources

  1. WHO | Protein and amino acid requirements in human nutrition [Internet]. WHO. World Health Organization; [cited 2020 Apr 7]. Available from: http://www.who.int/nutrition/publications/nutrientrequirements/WHO_TRS_935/en/
  2. Pendick D. How much protein do you need every day? [Internet]. Harvard Health Blog. 2015 [cited 2020 Apr 9]. Available from: https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/how-much-protein-do-you-need-every-day-201506188096
  3. Balić A, Vlašić D, Žužul K, Marinović B, Bukvić Mokos Z. Omega-3 Versus Omega-6 Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids in the Prevention and Treatment of Inflammatory Skin Diseases. Int J Mol Sci [Internet]. 2020 Jan 23 [cited 2020 Aug 28];21(3). Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7037798/
  4. Boston 677 Huntington Avenue, Ma 02115 +1495‑1000. Types of Fat [Internet]. The Nutrition Source. 2014 [cited 2020 Apr 9]. Available from: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/what-should-you-eat/fats-and-cholesterol/types-of-fat/
  5. WHO | Fats and fatty acids in human nutrition [Internet]. WHO. World Health Organization; [cited 2020 Apr 7]. Available from: https://www.who.int/nutrition/publications/nutrientrequirements/fatsandfattyacids_humannutrition/en/
  6. Oats | The Nutrition Source | Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health [Internet]. [cited 2020 Apr 9]. Available from: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/food-features/oats/
  7. Slavin J, Carlson J. Carbohydrates1. Adv Nutr. 2014 Nov 3;5(6):760–1.
  8. Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids | The National Academies Press [Internet]. [cited 2020 Apr 3]. Available from: https://www.nap.edu/download/10490
  9. Holscher HD. Dietary fiber and prebiotics and the gastrointestinal microbiota. Gut Microbes. 2017 04;8(2):172–84.
  10. Whole Grains, Refined Grains, and Dietary Fiber | American Heart Association [Internet]. [cited 2020 Apr 9]. Available from: https://www.heart.org/en/healthy-living/healthy-eating/eat-smart/nutrition-basics/whole-grains-refined-grains-and-dietary-fiber#.WVVm4RMrIdU
  11. Zeisel SH, Corbin KD. Choline. In: Erdman JW, Macdonald IA, Zeisel SH, eds. Present Knowledge in Nutrition. 10th ed. Washington, DC: Wiley-Blackwell; 2012:405-18.
  12. Institute of Medicine. Food and Nutrition Board. Dietary Reference Intakes: Thiamin,  Riboflavin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Vitamin B12, Pantothenic Acid, Biotin, and Choline. Washington, DC: National Academy Press; 1998.
  13. Zeisel SH. Choline. In: Coates PM, Betz JM, Blackman MR, et al., eds. Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements. 2nd ed. London and New York: Informa Healthcare; 2010:136-43
  14. Zeisel SH. Choline. In: Ross AC, Caballero B, Cousins RJ, Tucker KL, Ziegler TR, eds. Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease. 11th ed. Baltimore, MD: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014:416-26.
  15. Corbin KD, Zeisel SH. Choline metabolism provides novel insights into nonalcoholic fatty liver disease and its progression. Curr Opin Gastroenterol 2012;28:159-65. [PubMed abstract]
  16. Holscher H. D. (2017). Dietary fiber and prebiotics and the gastrointestinal microbiota. Gut microbes, 8(2), 172–184. https://doi.org/10.1080/19490976.2017.1290756 
  17. Sies, H., 2017. Hydrogen peroxide as a central redox signaling molecule in physiological oxidative stress: Oxidative eustress. Redox biology, 11, pp.613-619.
  18. Stephenie, S., Chang, Y.P., Gnanasekaran, A., Esa, N.M. and Gnanaraj, C., 2020. An insight on superoxide dismutase (SOD) from plants for mammalian health enhancement. Journal of Functional Foods, 68, p.103917.