Das Mittagstief: Ursachen und Vorbeugung [2023 Vollständige Anleitung]

Postprandial Somnolence

 

Kennst du das Gefühl des Mittagstiefs und Schläfrigkeit nach dem Essen? In diesem Artikel erfährst du alles, was du über dieses Phänomen wissen musst, das als postprandiale Somnolenz bezeichnet wird.

Und der beste Teil?

Nachdem du diesen Artikel gelesen hast, kannst du den nächstes Mittagstief vermeiden. Aber es könnte einige Zeit dauern, bis du alle unten aufgeführten Informationen verdaut hast.

Also gehen wir erst mal happenweise vor!

Los geht's!

 

Was ist postprandiale Somnolenz?

Wenn du jemals ein Mittagstief oder Müdigkeit nach dem Abendessen erlebt hast, bist du bereits auf postprandiale Somnolenz gestoßen.

Erstmal zu den Begriffen:

postprandial’ bezieht sich auf nach dem Essen...
Somnolenz’ bedeutet Müdigkeit.

Daher bezieht sich postprandiale Somnolen auf die häufige Müdigkeit oder Antriebslosigkeit nach dem Essen [1].

Vielleicht ist es dir geläufiger unter dem Begriff „Fresskoma". Die meisten Menschen verspüren ein Gefühl von Energiemangel, verbunden mit dem Gefühl, schlafen zu wollen.

Keine Sorge, es ist ganz normal, das hin und wieder zu erleben. Was uns zu unserer nächsten Frage bringt...

 

Woher kommt die postprandiale Somnolenz?

An diesem Punkt möchtest du wahrscheinlich hören:

„Hier sind die drei Gründe, warum du ein Mittagstief nach dem Essen verspürst."

Leider sagt die Wissenschaft etwas anderes. Warum?

Weil es nur begrenzte schlüssige wissenschaftliche Beweise für postprandiale Somnolenz gibt. Ein Gefühl von Energieverlust oder Schläfrigkeit nach einer Mahlzeit ist von Person zu Person unterschiedlich. Du kannst Müdigkeit oder einfach nur einen Energiemangel erleben, oder vielleicht beides.

Darüber hinaus ändern sich ständig die Umstände. All dies macht es schwierig, Genaueres festzustellen [2].

Das bedeutet nicht, dass Wissenschaftler noch keine Theorien präsentiert haben. Schauen wir uns mal die häufigsten Gründe an.

 

Das Schlafzentrum deines Gehirns wird stimuliert

Eine der neuesten Theorien zur postprandialen Somnolenz besagt, dass diese von einer Kombination von Neuronen beeinflusst wird, dem sogenannten Nucleus arcuatus (ARC).

Diese Gruppe von Neuronen befindet sich im Hypothalamus, einem Bereich nahe der Mitte deines Gehirns (siehe Bild unten, um herauszufinden, wo er sich befindet). Der ARC reguliert deinen Appetit als Reaktion auf die verschiedenen Signale, die dein Körper an dein Gehirn weiterleitet.

Dein Appetit wird hauptsächlich durch Signale reguliert, die dir dein Körper vermittelt. Ein wichtiger Indikator sind Peptide. Dabei handelt es sich um kurze Ketten von Aminosäuren.

Peptide entstehen, wenn du proteinhaltige Lebensmittel konsumierst. Dein Körper produziert verschiedene Chemikalien während der Verdauung. Diese Substanzen zerlegen die Proteine in kleine Proteinketten, die Peptide genannt werden. Sobald diese klein genug sind, kann dein Körper sie richtig aufnehmen und verwerten.

Nachdem dein ARC die Auswertung deiner Körpersignale abgeschlossen hat, sendet er die Signale an den Hypothalamus. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt könnte der ARC die Schlafzentren stimulieren. Eine andere Möglichkeit besteht darin, dass das Schlafzentrum über die Signale in deinem Körper ohne den ARC als Mediator aktiviert wird [3].

Postprandial Somnolence

Der Blutfluss zu deinem Gehirn verändert sich

Von allen Theorien, die postprandiale Somnolenz erklären, sagt die am weitesten verbreitete, dass der Blutfluss nach einer Mahlzeit neu verteilt wird.

Das Blut wird umverteilt von den Blutgefäßen um dein Gehirn bis zu den Blutgefäßen um deinen Darm. Um genau zu sein, wird nahegelegt, dass das Blut vom Herzen in den Magen-Darm-Trakt umverteilt wird.

Diese Annahme macht diese Theorie jedoch auch zu einer der am meisten diskutierten zum Thema postprandiale Somnolenz. Logischerweise wird der Blutfluss zum Gehirn von deinem Körper sorgfältig und stetig reguliert, um normale Körperfunktionen aufrechtzuerhalten.

Nimm Sport als Beispiel. Während deiner Aktivität gelangt viel Blut in den Muskel, aber der Blutfluss zu deinem Gehirn bleibt trotzdem erhalten [4]. Daher ist es nicht sehr wahrscheinlich, dass eine Blutumverteilung eine postprandiale Somnolenz erklären kann.

Postprandial Somnolence Organs

 

Du fragst dich wahrscheinlich noch immer...

 

Wie kann ich ein Mittagstief vermeiden?

Wenn du dir mehrere Studien ansiehst, wird klar, dass im Bereich der postprandialen Somnolenz mehr Recherche betrieben werden muss, da die Gründe dafür noch unklar sind.

Es gibt jedoch Punkte, die darauf hinweisen, was du tun kannst, um ein regelmäßiges Tief nach dem Mittag- oder Abendessen zu verhindern.

Die folgenden Tipps helfen dir ein Mittagstief zu vermeiden:

  • Achte darauf, was du isst
  • Iss die richtigen Makronährstoffe
  • Schlaf nachts ausreichend
  • Achte auf deine Portionen
  • Bewege dich nach einer Mahlzeit

Wir werden im Nachfolgenden die Methoden erläutern und warum sie hilfreich sind.

Achte darauf, was du isst

Iss keine großen Mahlzeiten, wenn du von dir danach Produktivität erwartest. Außerdem ist eine ausreichende Wasseraufnahme auch wichtig. Aufgrund deines Tagesrhythmus erlebst du natürlich zu verschiedenen Tageszeiten ein unterschiedliches Energielevel [5]. Iss also leichte Mahlzeiten, die dir genügend Energie für die anstehenden Aufgaben liefern, und trink den ganzen Tag über genügend Wasser. Einfach oder?

Achte auf ein Gleichgewicht der Makronährstoffe

Man neigt dazu, sich nach dem Verzehr von fettreichen & kohlenhydratarmen (im Vergleich zu fettarmen & kohlenhydratreichen) Mahlzeiten schläfrig zu fühlen [6]. Einfach gesagt, wenn du mehr Kohlenhydrate als Fette zu dir nimmst, stehen die Chancen besser, dass du ein Mittagstief vermeidest. Andererseits solltest du auch versuchen, schwere Kohlenhydrat-Kost zu vermeiden, da dies auch die Wahrscheinlichkeit erhöhen kann, dass du dich schläfrig fühlst. Ganz zu schweigen davon, dass du auch dein Aktivitätslevel einkalkulieren sollst. Denk voraus. Es geht alles um die richtige Balance.

Schlaf nachts ausreichend

Die Schläfrigkeit, die du aufgrund deines Tagesrhythmus auf natürliche Weise erlebst, verschlimmert sich bei einer schlechten Nachtruhe. Es besteht ein Zusammenhang zwischen deinem Schlaf (oder einem Mangel daran) und der Größe deiner Mahlzeiten. Es wird gesagt, dass ein Mangel an Schlaf in Kombination mit einer schweren Mahlzeit während des Tages dich besonders schläfrig fühlen lässt [7].

Achte auf deine Portionen

Du denkst vielleicht, auf seine Portionen zu achten sei ja selbstverständlich, aber dies ist eine der Methoden, die die meisten Studien empfehlen, um die Chancen auf ein Fresskoma zu verringern. Erinnerst du dich, warum du überhaupt ein Mittagstief verspürst? Du musst essen, um dein Energieniveau aufrechtzuerhalten. Zu viel Essen kann jedoch Gefühle postprandialer Somnolenz auslösen [8].

Bewege dich nach einer Mahlzeit

Sorge für einen angeregten Blutfluss direkt nach dem Essen durch leichte Bewegung. Geh spazieren oder spiel Tischtennis. Sobald dein Blut fließt, kannst du die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Mittagstiefs verringern [9].

 

Fazit

Postprandiale Somnolenz ist ein heikles Forschungsthema, aber bisher wissen wir genug, um ein Mittagstief in Schach zu halten. Die wahrscheinlichste Ursache für postprandiale Somnolenz ist ein Signal in deinem Gehirn, das dein Schlafzentrum auslöst. Diese Signale werden von deinem Körper während der Verdauung ausgelöst. Deshalb solltest du auf die richtigen Nahrungsmittel in den richtigen Mengen achten, genug Schlaf bekommen und nach dem Essen in Bewegung bleiben.

Bonus-Tipps:

Um dir bei der Bekämpfung deines Mittagstief oder deiner Müdigkeit nach dem Abendessen zu helfen, haben wir einen vollwertigen Shake entwickelt, der alles enthält, was dein Körper benötigt.

  • Achte darauf, was du isst: Misch Wasser mit löslichen Zutaten auf pflanzlicher Basis, um einen vollwertigen, ausgewogenen Shake zu erhalten.
  • Iss die richtigen Makronährstoffe: Shakes sind reich an Ballaststoffen und Protein. Diese werden mit der richtigen Menge an gesunden Fetten abgerundet.
  • Achte auf deine Portionen: Jeder Scoop enthält 50 Gramm, was ungefähr 200 kcal entspricht.

Gesunde Optionen, um ein Mittagstief vorzubeugen:



Quellenangaben:

  1. Orr, W. C., Shadid, G., Harnish, M. J., &; Elsenbruch, S. (1997). Meal Composition and Its Effect on Postprandial Sleepiness. Physiology &; Behavior, 62(4), 709-712. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/S0031-9384(97)00012-7
  2. Murphy, K. R., Deshpande, S. A., Yurgel, M. E., Quinn, J. P., Weissbach, J. L., Keene, A. C., . . . William, W. J. (2016). Postprandial sleep mechanics in Drosophila. Elife, 5, e19334.
  3. Kim, S. W., &; Lee, B. I. (2009). Metabolic state, neurohormones, and vagal stimulation, not increased serotonin, orchestrate postprandial drowsiness. Bioscience Hypotheses, 2(6), 422-427. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bihy.2009.07.008
  4. Bazar, K. A., Yun, A. J., &; Lee, P. Y. (2004). Debunking a myth: neurohormonal and vagal modulation of sleep centers, not redistribution of blood flow, may account for postprandial somnolence. Medical Hypotheses, 63(5), 778-782. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mehy.2004.04.015
  5. National Sleep Foundation, Food and Sleep, 2019.
  6. Wells, A. S., Read, N. W., Uvnas-Moberg, K., &; Alster, P. (1997). Influences of Fat and Carbohydrate on Postprandial Sleepiness, Mood, and Hormones. Physiology & Behavior, 61(5), 679-686.doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/S0031-9384(96)00519-7
  7. Reyner LA, Wells SJ, Mortlock V, Horne JA. 'Post-lunch' sleepiness during prolonged, monotonous driving - effects of meal size. Physiol Behav. 2012;105(4):1088-91. doi:10.1016/j.physbeh.2011.11.025. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0031938411005555?via%3Dihub
  8. Shukla C, Basheer R. Metabolic signals in sleep regulation: recent insights. Nat Sci Sleep. 2016;8:9-20. doi:10.2147/NSS.S62365. https://www.dovepress.com/metabolic-signals-in-sleep-regulation-recent-insights-peer-reviewed-article-NSS
  9. Matsumoto Y, Mishima K, Satoh K, Shimizu T, Hishikawa Y (2002). Physical activity increases the dissociation between subjective sleepiness and objective performance levels during extended wakefulness in humans. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S030439400200335X

Die Plenny Familie

plenny shake

STARTERBOX

Probier alle unsere Mahlzeiten in einer praktischen Starterbox

84,82€ per box

4.29 / 504 reviews

Extra gift
plenny shake

PLENNY SHAKE

Bestseller mit niedrigstem Preis pro Mahlzeit

15,22€ per bag

4.45 / 14400 reviews

plenny shake

PLENNY BAR

Sättigender Mahlzeitriegel mit Crunch

33,15€ per 12-pack

4.39 / 5211 reviews

plenny shake

PLENNY POT

Herzhafte, heiße Instant-Mahlzeit

29,67€ per bag

3.72 / 232 reviews

plenny shake

PLENNY DRINK

Cremige und trinkfertige Mahlzeit in der Flasche

23,73€ per 8-pack

4.37 / 612 reviews

Food Coma Causes and Prevention [2019 Complete Guide]

Postprandial Somnolence

 

You know the feeling of drowsiness or sleepiness after a meal? This article will tell you everything you need to know about this phenomenon called postprandial somnolence.

The best part?

After you finish reading this guide you can avoid ever having a food coma again, although it might take you some time to digest all the information below.

So let’s take small bites, shall we?

Here comes the airplane!

 

What is postprandial somnolence?

If you’ve ever experienced a post-dinner dip or even a post-lunch dip, you’ve encountered postprandial somnolence.

Let’s break these words down:

postprandial’ refers to after a meal...
somnolence’ refers to sleepiness.

So, postprandial somnolence refers to the common sleepiness or drowsiness experience after eating a meal [1].

You might remember it better as a fancy word for the often-used food coma. Most people experience a feeling of low energy combined with a feeling of wanting to sleep.

Don’t worry, it is very normal to experience this every now and then. Which leads us to our next question...

 

Why do you get postprandial somnolence?

This is the point when you want to hear:

“Here are the three reasons why you get that post-lunch dip.”

Unfortunately, science says otherwise. Why?

Because there is limited conclusive scientific evidence about postprandial somnolence. Feeling a dip in energy or feeling sleepy after a meal varies from person to person. You might experience sleepiness, or just a lack of energy, or maybe both.

On top of that, your circumstances change all the time. All of this makes it difficult to study [2].

That doesn’t mean scientists have not yet presented several theories. Let’s have a look at the most common reasons.

 

Your brain's sleeping center is being stimulated

One of the most recent theories about postprandial somnolence is that it is influenced by a combination of neurons, the so-called Arcuate Nucleus (ARC).

This group of neurons is located in the hypothalamus, which is an area close to the center of your brain (see image above to find out where it is located the hypothalamus). The ARC regulates your appetite, in response to the different signals that your body communicates to your brain.

Your appetite is primarily regulated by signals that your body gives you. An important indicator are peptides, which are short chains of amino acids.

Peptides are created when you eat food that contains proteins. Your body produces different chemicals during digestion. These substances break the proteins up into small chains of proteins, which are the peptides. Once these proteins are small enough, your body can absorb them.

After your ARC is done evaluating your body signals, it sends the signals to the hypothalamus. At this point the ARC could stimulate the sleeping centers. Another possibility is that the sleeping center gets activated via the signals in your body without the ARC as a mediator [3]. 

Postprandial Somnolence

The flow of blood to your brain changes

Of all the theories that explain postprandial somnolence, the most prevalent one says that blood flow is redistributed after a meal.

Blood is redistributed from the blood vessels around your brain to the blood vessels around your intestines. To be specific, it is suggested that there is a redistributing of blood from the heart to the gastrointestinal tract.

However, this assumption also makes this theory one of the most debated ones around the subject of postprandial somnolence. Naturally the blood flow to your brain is carefully and steadily regulated by your body to maintain, well, normal body functions.

Take exercise as an example. During this activity a large amount of blood gets into the muscle but still, the blood flow to your brain is maintained [4]. Therefore, it does not seem very likely that blood redistribution can explain postprandial somnolence.

Postprandial Somnolence Organs

 

At this point, you are probably still wondering...

 

How can I prevent a food coma?

When you look at multiple studies it becomes clear that more research has to be done in the area of postprandial somnolence, as the reasoning behind it is not clear yet.

But there are key takeaways that point to things you can do to prevent your regular after-lunch or after-dinner dip.

The following tips help you to prevent a food coma:

  • Watch your food intake
  • Eat the right macronutrients
  • Get enough sleep
  • Portion control
  • Be active after a meal

We’re going to discuss the methods and why they help.

Watch your food intake

Don’t eat huge meals when you want to be productive after. Besides this, make sure you drink enough water. You naturally experience a dip in energy levels at different times of the day because of your circadian rhythm [5]. So, eat light meals that provide you with a sufficient amount of energy for the tasks at hand and drink enough water throughout the day. Simple, right?

More specifically, balance out your macronutrients

You tend to feel sleepy after eating high-fat-low-carbohydrate meals in comparison to low-fat-high-carbohydrate meals [6]. Simply said, if you eat meals higher in carbohydrates rather than fats you’re more likely to prevent a food coma. On the other hand, you should also try to prevent meals that are high in carbohydrates, since this could also increase chances of feeling sleepy. Not to mention, you should also gauge your activity level. So think ahead. It’s all about balance.

Get enough sleep

The sleepiness that you naturally experience because of your circadian rhythm is worse with a poor night of sleep. There is a connection between your sleep (or lack of it) and the size of your meals. It is said that a lack of sleep in combination with a heavy meal during the day makes you feel extra sleepy [7].

Portion control

You might think this is a no-brainer but it is one of the things that most of the studies point out to as a good way to reduce your chances of getting a food-coma. Remember why you get a food coma in the first place? You need to eat to sustain energy levels. Eating too much can trigger feelings of postprandial somnolence [8].

Be active after a meal

Get your blood flowing right after you eat a meal. Go for a walk or play a game of table tennis. Once you get your blood flowing you might decrease your chance of getting a post-lunch dip [9].

 

Conclusion

Postprandial somnolence is a tricky research topic but thus far we know enough to keep these food comas at bay. The most likely cause of postprandial somnolence is a signal in your brain that triggers your sleep center. These signals are triggered by your body during digestion. That’s why if you don’t want a food coma you should eat the right foods in the right amounts, get enough sleep, and be active after you eat a meal.

Bonus tips:

To help you fight post-lunch dips, post-dinner dips, or post-anything dips we have developed a nutritionally complete meal shake that contains everything your body needs.

  • Watch your food intake: mix water with soluble plant-based ingredients for a complete, well-balanced meal shake.
  • Eat the right macronutrients: meal shakes are high in fiber and protein. It is topped off by the right amount of healthy fats.
  • Portion control: every scoop is 50 grams, which equals about 200 kcal.

Healthy products to prevent food comas:



Sources

  1. Orr, W. C., Shadid, G., Harnish, M. J., &; Elsenbruch, S. (1997). Meal Composition and Its Effect on Postprandial Sleepiness. Physiology &; Behavior, 62(4), 709-712. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/S0031-9384(97)00012-7
  2. Murphy, K. R., Deshpande, S. A., Yurgel, M. E., Quinn, J. P., Weissbach, J. L., Keene, A. C., . . . William, W. J. (2016). Postprandial sleep mechanics in Drosophila. Elife, 5, e19334.
  3. Kim, S. W., &; Lee, B. I. (2009). Metabolic state, neurohormones, and vagal stimulation, not increased serotonin, orchestrate postprandial drowsiness. Bioscience Hypotheses, 2(6), 422-427. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bihy.2009.07.008
  4. Bazar, K. A., Yun, A. J., &; Lee, P. Y. (2004). Debunking a myth: neurohormonal and vagal modulation of sleep centers, not redistribution of blood flow, may account for postprandial somnolence. Medical Hypotheses, 63(5), 778-782. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mehy.2004.04.015
  5. National Sleep Foundation, Food and Sleep, 2019.
  6. Wells, A. S., Read, N. W., Uvnas-Moberg, K., &; Alster, P. (1997). Influences of Fat and Carbohydrate on Postprandial Sleepiness, Mood, and Hormones. Physiology & Behavior, 61(5), 679-686.doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/S0031-9384(96)00519-7
  7. Reyner LA, Wells SJ, Mortlock V, Horne JA. 'Post-lunch' sleepiness during prolonged, monotonous driving - effects of meal size. Physiol Behav. 2012;105(4):1088-91. doi:10.1016/j.physbeh.2011.11.025. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0031938411005555?via%3Dihub
  8. Shukla C, Basheer R. Metabolic signals in sleep regulation: recent insights. Nat Sci Sleep. 2016;8:9-20. doi:10.2147/NSS.S62365. https://www.dovepress.com/metabolic-signals-in-sleep-regulation-recent-insights-peer-reviewed-article-NSS
  9. Matsumoto Y, Mishima K, Satoh K, Shimizu T, Hishikawa Y (2002). Physical activity increases the dissociation between subjective sleepiness and objective performance levels during extended wakefulness in humans. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S030439400200335X